Is This Not What We All Feel? Thank You Mr. Whitaker.

03Mar07

When I heard Forest Whitaker’s acceptance speech at the Oscars, I thought to myself what sage words.

Because when I first started acting, it was because of my desire to connect to everyone. To that thing inside each of us. That light that I believe exists in all of us. Because acting for me is about believing in that connection and it’s a connection so strong, it’s a connection so deep, that we feel it. And through our combined belief, we can create a new reality.

I agree with Forest – that it’s our divine gift as humans, as citizens of the universe, to create, to express, and to connect. I’m certain it was the message that Forrest meant not just to his fellow thespians, but for humanity.

7 Responses to “Is This Not What We All Feel? Thank You Mr. Whitaker.”

  1. 1 Khadine Santiago

    I Know the theme of interconnectedness might have been exhausted in the previous comments made by my fellow connectors. So I will only touch lightly on that subject and instead focus in on the importance of tapping into our inner light and allow it to shine forth for all the world to see.

    Forest Whitaker took on the role of a complex person in order to teach us something about the responsibilities of power. What a courageous act!!
    In a sense we all do this! We wrestle our demons and sometimes win! Those accomplishments can be more frequent my friends if we take time out each and everyday to feed our souls. This allows our inner light to shine brightly. Take time my friends to be alone in peace and quiet and do nothing but stare at a flower; sit in incense and breath deeply; walk alone in a quiet park on a pretty day observing the smallest things. Lastly give thanks daily for all things in your life even when it you dont feel like it.

    Namaste Everyone!

  2. 2 Evangelina (Yaso The Clown)

    How eloquently said Mr. Whitaker, and how authentic. Is it not all about connecting? Is it not all about feeling as if your a part of something or someone? And isn’t such a blessing when what you have connected to, or whom you are connected with, seeks to improve or enriching the lives of others. Without connection we are simply lost in the space.

  3. 3 M.Nunez

    Somehow, someway I can feel the genuine heartfelt sentiments of Mr. Whitaker. He was eloquent, humble and gracious in his acceptance speech. Most importantly, he acknowledged the Almighty’s power in his life and in ours….that is the inner light that he spoke to. Amen Forest, AMEN!

    Mathew 10:32-33

    32 “If anyone acknowledges me publicly here on earth, I will openly acknowledge that person before my Father in heaven. 33 But if anyone denies me here on earth, I will deny that person before my Father in heaven.

  4. 4 p.santos

    I agree. Mr. Whitaker’s words are human, powerful and challenging. What I find most interesting though is the way he began his acceptance speech. In front of millions he stopped, took a deep breath, and was silent. How easy is it for us to be caught in the race that we call life and forget to refelect? There is a beauty in silence that I think we have lost. There is a beauty in solitude that no longer is appreciated and there is a beauty in acknowledging, and in reflecting, that is life giving.

  5. 5 Jayson Diaz

    This speech displays Mr. Whitaker’s conviction. I like to see how he understands his past and how the succession of past events have made him who he is. He mentions and pays tribute to his ancestors. His appreciation for his forming elements are inspiring. He does not forget to acknowledge the greater power of God in his life.

    His thanksgiving is very evident and his humbleness to consider as a daily ingredient in our lives. Essentially Forrest gives us a glimpse-recap of a man’s journey, his conviction, and appreciation and fulfillment of where we came from.

    Mr. Whitaker not only has the joy of expressing his journey and excitement, but also creates an awareness to his listeners on what is important.

  6. 6 clara diaz

    I agree with all of you that his speech was sincere and inspiring and I was very happy when he won. What I find fascinating is that someone who is obviously sensitive, God-fearing and believes in and abides by the basic rules of decency, can pull out of himself the charasteristics and traits to portray such an evil monster in such a convincing way. I know that being able to transform yourself into someone else is a fundamental skill of great acting, but I wonder what impact that has on the person and on the rest of us?

  7. 7 Peter

    Hi Clara,

    I found this quote on imdb.com by Forest Whitaker on the impact that playing Idi Amin had on him.

    “(On his role in The Last King of Scotland (2006)) “It was an experience that changed my life and my thoughts. I went there with the purpose of understanding what it was like to be Ugandan, and I wanted to understand the food, the life, the way they deal with children and wives and with authority figures. I sat with Idi Amin’s brother underneath a big mango tree and he told me stories about what Idi was like and how he used to come to town and pull together soccer or rugby games. It all helped me with figuring out the way he behaved and the way he thought, so that 24 hours a day, even in my dreams, I was totally consumed by the character of Idi Amin. It wasn’t until the movie was over that I decided I could let go of the character, so the first thing I did was take a shower because I figured I could wash him off by scrubbing myself. I was in a room by myself, so I started yelling to get his voice out of me and get my own voice back.”


Leave a Reply

